About the Foundation

The Foundation organizes and supports events in the fields of fine arts, literature, theater, music, architecture and choreography on a regular basis. The Foundation establishes international cultural ties and promotes the culture of Uzbekistan in the international arena.

Among the Foundation's long-term programs are the creation of inclusive and accessible environments in the country's cultural institutions, renovations to museums, and the development of cultural patronage and training of new specialists working in museums, theaters and other cultural institutions.

In addition, the Foundation is the initiator and organizer of large-scale architectural projects in Uzbekistan: the reconstruction of the State Museum of Arts, the creation of a Center for Contemporary Arts in Tashkent, the reconstruction of the State Children's Library, the opening of the House of Culture on Istiqlol Street, as well as the reconstruction of the residence of Grand Duke Romanov.

 

LONG-TERM PROGRAMS

Inclusive environment

According to the Ministry of Health, more than 700,000 people with disabilities are registered in Uzbekistan. Of these, 111,000 are children and teenagers under the age of 18. Since 2019, the Foundation has been developing a long-term program of inclusiveness in the cultural institutions of the country, which involves the reconstruction of cultural sites, redevelopment of urban infrastructure, and improving educational programs for employees of cultural institutions in the country.

Renovation of museums

One of the main long–term programs of the Foundation is the renovation of museums in Uzbekistan. Renovation has already begun in four institutions within the country: the State Museum of Arts of Uzbekistan, the State Museum of Applied Art of Uzbekistan, the Memorial-House of Aybek, and the State Museum of Arts of the Republic of Karakalpakstan named under I.V. Savitsky. In January 2020, these institutions received an internal electronic cataloguing system, which allows museums to optimize the work of employees and put internal archives in order.

Development of Cultural Patronage

The Foundation is the initiator and author of legislation that creates a legal basis for patronage and non-governmental financial support of culture. These are the laws "on patronage", "on the target capital of non-profit organizations", as well as the Resolution of the Cabinet of Ministers "On approval of the model regulations on the boards of Trustees of cultural and art institutions".

 

INTERNATIONAL EXHIBITION PROJECTS

Venice Biennale

Venice hosts the main international exhibition dedicated to topical issues in contemporary art and architecture. It is there that a platform through which more than 70 countries share their culture and knowledge with each other is erected. In 2021, for the first time in the history of the exhibition, the national pavilion of Uzbekistan will be presented. The Art and Culture Development Foundation under the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Uzbekistan is the commissioner of the pavilion. The curator of the project will be announced in 2020.

The Louvre Museum

In October 2021, the Foundation will organize a large-scale exhibition in one of the main museums in all of Europe – the Louvre Museum. The exhibition "Civilizations and Cultures on the Silk Road" will present 310 exhibits from Uzbekistan. The museum estimates that more than 2.5 million visitors will visit the exhibition. Preparatory work for the show has already begun. In February 2020, restoration work was completed, in which experts from the Louvre restored the pages of the Qur'an Katta Langara – one of the most ancient and famous copies of Islam’s holy book in the world.

Gallery of James Simon in Berlin

The exhibition "Heritage of Central Asia: Kushan Civilization" is scheduled for April 2022. The James Simon Gallery is located on the Museum Island in Berlin, which is the one of the main cultural destinations in Western Europe. Every year, more than 3 million people visit the island. The exhibition will explain the Hellenistic period in the context of Uzbekistan’s broader history: from the conquests of Alexander the Great to the rise of the Kushan Empire.

 

RECONSTRUCTION OF CULTURAL INSTITUTIONS IN TASHKENT

State Museum of Art

One of the main monuments of modernism in Tashkent was created by a group of young architects in 1974. For several decades, the displays and infrastructure of the museum were not updated, and the experimental materials that were used to decorate the facade of the building were not as durable as were originally planned. This year, the SMA reconstruction project will be presented. The author of the reconstruction is a Japanese architect: the winner of the Pritzker prize- Tadao Ando.

The total area of the museum will double to 20,000 square meters, including 7,000 square meters of exhibition space. This will allow us to rethink the museum's exposition possibilities and expand the museum's storage, where the entire archival objects of the institution will be stored – numbering more than 100,000 exhibits. A public space will be created around the building – a new modern park in the center of the city with an area of 1.1 hectares.

Residence of the Grand Duke Romanov

The residence of the Grand Duke Nikolai Romanov was built in 1881 by the architects Wilhelm Heintzelman and Alexey Benois. From 1918 to 1935, the State Museum of Art was located in this building. Until recently, the palace was inaccessible to the public. In 2020, the Foundation announced plans to renovate the building and create a branch of the State Museum of Art.

The main aim of the exhibition in the building of the Duke's residence is to recreate the atmosphere of that time. The interior will be as close as possible to the decoration of the palace under Nikolai Konstantinovich. For this purpose, the overseers of the project will use preserved archival photos. The exhibition will include SMA exhibits: classical paintings, Italian sculpture and porcelain, furniture, as well as the original copy of the Duke's will, which itemizes each object in his collection that he gave to the city of Tashkent.

CCA TASHKENT

The building which will soon become the Center of Contemporary Art was built in 1912. Before the October Revolution, there was a diesel power plant that generated power for the first tram line in the city. This is where the electrification of the city of Tashkent began. Here, the renewal of the artistic environment of modern Uzbekistan will also start.

State Children's Library

The building was built in 1909 by the architect Markevich. It was originally the home of a cotton mill owner, Vadyaev, and since 1910 it has been used as a public meeting venue. In the 1930s, the cinematic theater "30 Years of the Komsomol" was opened here. Only the left side of the building, where the library is located, has been preserved. It holds one of the largest collections of children's books in Central Asia – more than 200,000 items. In 2020, a project for the reconstruction of the building will be presented, which will be handled by the Ludi Architects Bureau (Russia).

House of Culture on Istiqlol street

The building of the Information and Culture Center was constructed in 1986. The creators included a spacious cinema and courtyard in their project plans. The total area is 10,338 meters. Until today, the building has not been repaired properly. In the autumn of 2020, a project for the reconstruction of the building will be presented in Tashkent. The Art and Culture Development Foundation under the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Uzbekistan will oversee it, and the French Cultural Center will be located there. The head of the reconstruction is the founder of Grace Bureau – Ekaterina Golovatyuk.

О Фонде

Фонд на регулярной основе организовывает и поддерживает мероприятия в области изобразительного искусства, литературы, театра, музыки, архитектуры и хореографии. Фонд налаживает международные культурные связи и продвигает культуру Узбекистана на мировой арене.

Среди долгосрочных программ Фонда – создание инклюзивной и доступной среды в культурных учреждениях страны, реновация музеев, развитие меценатства и подготовка новых специалистов для музеев, театров и других институций.

Кроме того, Фонд является инициатором и организатором масштабных архитектурных проектов в Узбекистане: реконструкция Государственного музея искусств, создание Центра современного искусства в Ташкенте, реконструкция Государственной детской библиотеки, открытие Дома культуры на улице Истиклол, а также реконструкция Резиденции князя Романова.

 

ДОЛГОСРОЧНЫЕ ПРОГРАММЫ    

Инклюзивная среда

По данным Министерства здравоохранения в Узбекистане зарегистрировано более 700 000 людей с ограниченными возможностями. Из них 111 000 – это дети и подростки до 18 лет. Фонд с 2019 года разрабатывает долгосрочную программу инклюзивности в учреждениях культуры страны, которая предполагает реконструкцию объектов культуры, реконструкцию городской инфраструктуры и образовательные программы для сотрудников учреждений культуры страны.

Реновация музеев

Одна из главных долгосрочных программ Фонда – это реновация музеев Узбекистана. Реновация уже началась в четырех учреждениях страны: Государственном музее искусств Узбекистана, Государственном музее прикладного искусства и истории ремесленничества Узбекистана, Доме-музее Айбека и Каракалпакском государственном музее искусств имени И.В. Савицкого. В январе 2020 года эти учреждения получили систему внутренней электронной каталогизации, которая позволит музеям оптимизировать работу сотрудников и приведет в порядок внутренние архивы.

Развитие меценатства

Фонд является инициатором и автором законопроектов, создающих правовую базу для меценатства и негосударственной финансовой поддержки культуры. Это законы «О меценатстве», «О целевых капиталах некоммерческих организаций», а также Постановление Кабинета министров «Об утверждении типового положения о попечительских советах учреждений культуры и искусства».

МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫЕ ВЫСТАВОЧНЫЕ ПРОЕКТЫ

Венецианская биеннале

Главная международная выставка, посвященная актуальным проблемам современного искусства и архитектуры. Это платформа, при помощи которой более 70 стран рассказывают о своей культуре и обмениваются знаниями друг с другом. В 2021 году впервые в истории выставки будет представлен национальный павильон Узбекистана. Фонд развития культуры и искусства при Министерстве культуры Республики Узбекистан является комиссаром павильона. Куратор проекта будет объявлен в 2020 году.

Музей Лувра

В октябре 2021 году Фонд организует масштабную выставку в главном музее Европы – Музее Лувра. Выставка «Цивилизации и культуры на шелковом пути» представит 310 экспонатов из Узбекистана. По оценкам музея, проект посетят более 2,5 миллионов посетителей. Подготовительные работы к выставке уже начались. Так, в феврале 2020 года прошли реставрационные работы, в рамках которых специалисты из Лувра будут восстанавливать страницы Корана Катта Лангара – одной из самых древних и известных копий священной книги в мире.  

Галерея Джеймса Симона в Берлине

Выставка «Наследие Центральной азии: Кушанская цивилизация» запланирована на апрель 2022 года. Галерея Джеймса Симона находится на Музейном острове в Берлине – это одно из главных культурных направлений в Западной Европе. Ежегодно более 3 миллионов людей посещают остров. Выставка будет рассказывать об эллинистическом периоде в истории Узбекистана: от завоеваний Александра Македонского до расцвета Кушанской империи.

 

РЕКОНСТРУКЦИЯ КУЛЬТУРНЫХ УЧРЕЖДЕНИЙ В ТАШКЕНТЕ

Государственный музей искусств

Один из главных памятников модернизма в Ташкенте был создан группой молодых архитекторов в 1974 году. В течение нескольких десятилетий экспозиция и инфраструктура музея не обновлялись, а экспериментальные материалы, которые были использованы для декорирования фасада здания, оказались не такими долговечными, как планировалось изначально. В этом году будет представлен проект реконструкции ГМИ. Автор реконструкции – японский архитектор, лауреат Притцкеровской премии Тадао Андо.

Общая площадь музея увеличится в два раза и составит 20 000 квадратных метров, в том числе 7000 квадратных метров выставочной площади. Это позволит переосмыслить экспозицию музея и расширить хранилище музея, где будет хранится весь архив учреждения – это более 100 000 экспонатов. Вокруг здания будет создано публичное пространство – новый современный парк в центре города площадью 1,1 гектара.

Резиденция князя Романова

Резиденция князя Николая Романова было построено 1881 году архитекторами Вильгельмом Гейнцельманом и Алексеем Бенуа. С 1918 по 1935 годы Государственный музей искусств находился в этом здании. До последнего времени дворец был недоступен для публики. В 2020 году Фонд объявил о планах реконструкции здания и создания в нем филиала Государственного музея искусств.

Основной задачей экспозиции в здании резиденции князя станет воссоздание обстановки того времени. Интерьер будет максимально приближен к убранству дворца при Николае Константиновиче – для этого авторы проекта будут использовать сохранившиеся архивные фотографии. В экспозицию войдут экспонаты ГМИ: классическая живопись, итальянская скульптура и фарфор, предметы мебели, а также оригинал завещания князя, согласно которому он передал свою коллекцию Ташкенту.

CCA TASHKENT

Здание, которое в скором будущем станет Центром современного искусства, было построено в 1912 году. До революции здесь находилась дизельная электростанция, вырабатывающая энергию для первой в городе ветки трамвая. Именно здесь и началась электрификация города Ташкента. Здесь же начнется обновление художественной среды современного Узбекистана.

Государственная детская библиотека

Здание построено в 1909 году по проекту архитектора Маркевича. Первоначально это был дом хлопкозаводчика Вадьяева, а с 1910 года здесь располагалось общественное собрание. В 1930-х годах здесь был открыт кинотеатр «30 лет ВЛКСМ». Сохранилась только левая часть здания, где и находится библиотека. В ней хранится одно из крупнейших собраний детских книг в Центральной Азии – более 200 000 единиц. В 2020 году будет представлен проект реконструкции здания, которым будет заниматься бюро Ludi Architects (Россия).

Дом Культуры на улице Истиклол

Здание Информационно-культурного центра Интуриста было построено в 1986 году. Авторы включили в проект просторный кинотеатр и внутренний двор. Общая площадь объекта составила 10 338 метров. Вплоть до сегодняшнего дня здание не ремонтировалось должным образом. Осенью 2020 года в Ташкенте будет представлен проект реконструкции здания. В нем будут находиться Фонд развития культуры при Министерстве культуры республики Узбекистан, Центр реставрации и Французский центр. Автор реконструкции – основатель бюро Grace Екатерина Головатюк.